Grant of Mining Concessions

Directorate Generals of Mines & Minerals is responsible for grant of mining concessions. Fresh applicatons are received in Mining Concessions Branch. Major minerals like coal, iron ore, gypsum, limestone, bauxite are granted under Small Scale Mining Assistance/Titles and Large Scale Mining Divison. Minor minerals like ordinary sand, sand gravels, sandstone are granted under Licensing Division (Minor Minerals). Prospecting License for unapproved areas is granted for three years then it is converted into mining lease. In case of large scale mining exploration license is granted for unapproved area, explorartion license is converted into mining lease. Surface Minerals like fireclay, bauxite, silica sand etc are granted through open auction. Currently 20 minerals are under production out of 35 notified.